TShirtSlayer Heavy Metal Merch Gallery
  • Bands (0)
  • Groups (0)
  • Members (0)
  • (X)

World's largest community of heavy metal tshirt and battlejacket collectors.

Forums > All other metal related talk..

Drum machines - yea or nay?

judascrust
Wed, 10/02/2016 - 02:40

some people aren't very fond of electronic/computer generated drums; they prefer the genuineness and truer "feeling" of a human drummer - me personally I like the kind of cold, anti-human feel drum machines lend to certain bands - godflesh, mortician, mysticum, even summoning.... stupid question I guess, was just curious about how you all feel about them.

imfan1975's picture

A lot of brutal death metal bands/slam though i love those genres, the drum machines sound like shit in those. In those one man black metal projects they sound alright, but like you mentioned I prefer human drummers as a whole.

Nater90's picture

Depends on the band I guess.

Megatron1777's picture

As a drummer I detest drum machines, I have heard stuff before where it's done good but still can't compare to the real thing

nameless_rites's picture

I've played drums for many years; I usually don't like the machine sound either but in a few cases it sounds good (Summoning). If the band's drummer is so bad he can't play anywhere near the beat (Mutiilation) I suppose it would be preferable.

OTOH a lot of modern metal bands using post production blended samples, fully triggered kits, quantizing on everything etc.... you might as well call that a drum machine too, since most of the subtler human variability of a live performance is gone.

oldmate's picture

Love real drums. also love drum machines for 1 man bands!

dont like it in BDM or SLAM

ZAKRAT's picture

I do like it, especially the 80's sounding ones, like on early Godflesh, Ministry and Skinny Puppy stuff.

SpineSplitter666's picture